Timeline          Histories          
People Publications Events The Campus Athletics Daily Life



The Presidents of Coe

The position of college president requires knowledge in education, finance, and leadership.  Many diverse individuals have served as president of Coe College.  Below, in chronological order, are the stories of the presidents of Coe who served from the college's creation to 1951.

Stephen Phelps (1881-1886)
James Marshall (1887-1896)
Samuel Black McCormick (1897-1904)
S.W. Stookey (Interim President 1904-1905)
William Wilburforce Smith (1905-1908)
John Marquis (1909-1919)
Harry Morehouse Gage (1920-1941)
C. Harve Geiger (Interim President 1941-1942)
Charles Albert Anderson (1942-1944)
C. Harve Geiger (Interim President 1944-1945)
Byron S. Hollinshead (1945-1950)
Edgar C. Cumings (1950-1951)
Howell Brooks (1951-1956)

Harry Morehouse Gage (Interim President 1956-1958)

  Home Coe College Contact Us  

Copyright 2006
Coe College
1220 1st Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402